Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Watch Out for Gelatin if You are Vegetarian and Take Herbal Supplements or Medicine

gel·a·tin

noun \ˈje-lə-tən\
: a clear substance that is made by boiling animal bones or tissues and that is used in making jelly
: a food made with gelatin

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/gelatin

Unfortunately many herbal supplements and medicines contain gelatin. With medicine, one may need to inquire with a doctor or the drug manufacturer. With herbal supplements, gelatin shows up in the small print under "other ingredients." Site's like www.SwansonVitamins.com clearly highlight many (but not all) of the supplements which are vegetarian, vegan, and organic which usually means GMO free and is always virtually GMO free.

Related:

How to tell the difference between gelatin and vegetable capsules  

GMO Free USA

Why Buy Healthy, Non-GMO Pet Food?

Meet Your Meat

You Don't Need Meat to Be Big and Strong